Garden harvest

From garden to table: fresh lettuce and green onions!

From garden to table: fresh lettuce and green onions!

I am still recovering from the sick, but I thought I would real quick put up a picture of our first garden harvest.  The lettuce is from the seedlings I purchased at the farmer’s market.  None of the lettuce or spinach that I planted from seed is quite ready for harvest yet. Maybe next year I should start some lettuce inside really early, like  mid-January early, because the lettuce made a delicious salad, but it’s going to be a week or two before we can get all of our salads from our own garden.

The green onion was also very tasty. I used it in a spring risotto with mushrooms and peas (frozen, sadly). There might be an element of wishful thinking here, but it did seem like it was extra deliciously onion-y and flavorful.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

