Sick

I am sick, and so is my amaryllis. Maybe. That is my amaryllis might be sick, I am most certainly all grody and feverish.  I have spent the last two days intermittently  asleep, insisting that I am not that sick and moaning piteously before I fall asleep again.  I am nothing but a delight when I don’t feel well.

Anyway, on to the amaryllis. This is a picture I made David take a bit ago. it looks even worse now.

Amaryllis

Amaryllis supported by a stake and a velcro cable wrap.

The plant was a party favor from my department Christmas party. It looked happy and green back then.

I took it home from the party, watered it and promptly left it alone for 10 days while I was visiting family for Christmas.  I have a very Darwinian attitude to house plants, survival of the fittest and all that. I figured if it couldn’t survive a week or so without care it really wasn’t my kind of house plant.

When I got back it still looked happy and green, so I deemed it part of the family and carried on watering it.

A few weeks ago one leaf started to look a bit yellow.  Then vary yellow.  Then the whole plant sort of slumped and everything fell over.  As you can see from the picture I have staked it with a plastic garden stake and one of David’s velcro chord organizers.  It’s very pretty.

But, what now? Cut of the yellow leaf? More sun? More water? Less water? Fertilizer? The internet seems to think that it’s normal for an amaryllis to start behaving this way in the fall but no mention of what to do if it starts crapping out even before the spring.

This entry was posted in Growing things. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sick

  1. Rosey Pollen says:

    Mine did the same thing.

  2. Pingback: Win some, lose some | With One Cat in the Yard

Leave a Reply

