Eat your peas

It seems that in the garden blogosphere tomatoes are considered the ultimate garden vegetable.  I get that, I really do. Tomatoes are so colorful and shiny. And, there certainly is no comparison between a vine rippened, home grown, heirloom tomato and those pale, acidic, force ripened lumps you can buy at the grocery store.

But, I have a confession to make. Even the fancy pants tomatoes don’t do that much for me.  No, the real reason I have a garden is the peas. I love peas.  I eat them pretty much everyday. I sneak them into salads, soups and pasta dishes that do not call for peas in anyway whatsoever. I keep a back up stash in the freezer so that I will never run out. I have pickled them and served them at parties.

Seriously, ask David.  He will be more than happy to tell you about the many, many ways I try to add peas to his food which is already perfectly good with out your crazy, thank you very much, woman.

My parents kept a garden when I was a little kid, and while I am sure that they grew many other things, all I remember about those gardens is eating the warmed snow peas right off the vine.

So, yeah, peas. I am a little obsessed. And, word on the ‘net is that you can plant peas out doors in North Carolina this month.  This seems a little crazy to me since I just scraped a surprisingly tough rime of ice off my windshield this morning.

Then again, the chives and daffodils seem to be growing perfectly happily right now.  I have tons of seed peas, so I am going to give it a try this weekend and see if it works.

This entry was posted in Growing things. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Eat your peas

  1. Gina says:

    Hi Elizabeth – I wanted to leave a comment letting you know that, although I vehemently disagree with your argument that tomatoes are not that best thing in the garden, I am thrilled to see somebody take a stand for another vegetable.

    I want to love peas like you. I really do. I grew them for the first time this year and I’m ashamed to say that many (most) of them dried up on the vine because I simply didn’t know what to do with them. This year I’m planning to freeze them for stir fry.

    • David says:

      Hey, Gina,
      Because it wouldn’t fly with me if we didn’t, we’re going to plant lots of tomatoes, too!

      Thanks for posting!
      David

      • Elizabeth says:

        Indeed, it is not that the tomatoes are not great. It’s just that I love me some peas. I’ve never frozen my own peas, but many of the peas I’ve bought frozen seem to have held up really well. I may try that if I ever manage to grow more peas than I want to eat.

Leave a Reply

