Oooo, Shiny!

The other day I was out doing some spring clean-up, and I found these thingamabobs buried in some ivy in my front yard.

Decorative dragonfly thingies

Decorative dragonfly thingies.

I didn’t put them there, so they must have been buried for at least three years. I am not exactly sure what they are.  The little dragonflies are on long stakes, maybe 3 feet tall. I am assuming they are purely decorative, but it is not entirely clear.  Maybe that spiral bit holds something?

Dragonflies after painting copper with a hammered finish

Dragonflies after painting copper with a hammered finish

Anyway, I decided they needed a coat of paint.  David kindly did the dirty work for me. He sanded down the worst of the rust with his fancy new Dremel tool (boys, toys, etc.) and then gave them a coat of hammered copper spray paint.

Better, right? Much shinier. Now I just have to figure out where to put these cheesy, shiny dragonfly thingies.

Dragonfly at dusk

Dragonfly at dusk in front of the house. This is a temporary placement until we figure out where to actually put these things!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

