Adventures in hot dog buns?

Hot dog buns on the cooling rack
Hot dog buns on the cooling rack made from The Bread Machine Book by Marjie Lambert

Last night I grilled up some hot dogs for dinner.  Not necessarily the most exciting dinner entrée, I grant you, although Nathans Famous are about as good as you can buy.  We had pretty much everything set for dinner, but there was a catch: we were out of buns.  Rather than running to the store, Elizabeth had a suggestion: “why don’t you make buns?”

I’ve been on a bread-making kick for the last couple of weeks, as I wrote about yesterday.  So, I flipped through Marjie Lambert’s The Bread Machine Book and found what turned out to be quite a good bun recipe–far better than any of the inexpensive buns sold in eight-packs at the supermarket, and a lot better than most of the other “fancy” buns in the bakery section.  They’re a bit rich thanks to the butter and egg–these are much greater than mere tube-steak conveyances.

Next time I might experiment with different toppings, swapping out poppy seeds for the sesame seeds.  Also, these would make great hamburger buns, or even good dinner rolls (shaped differently, of course).

Hot Dog Rolls (makes six):

  • 1 egg
  • ½ cup milk
  • 2 cups bread flour
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 2 tsp instant yeast

After the dough is ready, flatten it out on a floured surface and try to cut it into six equal parts.  Let them rest for five minutes as you grease a baking sheet (I just used spray oil).  Make a six-inch “rope” out of each piece, lay it on the baking sheet and flatten it until it’s about half an inch thick.  I would let them touch so that they help each other rise; Lambert suggests letting them rise for 20 minutes, but I let them rise for an hour at room temperature.

When the rolls-to-be are close to the perfect height, preheat the oven for 400° F.  Optional: brush the top of each roll with milk and sprinkle with sesame seeds.  Bake for 12 minutes and then let them cool on a rack.

This entry was posted in Adventures in the green kitchen, Recipes that worked! and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Adventures in hot dog buns?

  1. Rosey Pollen says:

    When I have time on my hands, I like to make buns for hamburgers but I haven’t ever tried to for hot dogs! Home-made buns are definitely more delicious.
    Thanks for your tip on mushrooms. My husband’s mushroom are ready for a second harvest and I am going to try them prepared that way.

    • David says:

      Hi, Rosey!
      I’ve made this batch of buns a couple of times now and while the recipe called for making six inch “ropes” out of the dough, I’m planning on aiming for four inch ropes next time. The former certainly make for fat (and happy looking) buns, but they overwhelm a hot dog. That said, I think they’re the perfect size for bratwurst!

      Cheers,
      David

Leave a Reply

